New Life Recovery and Coaching – Purpose and Goals

This site is about ovevrcoming substance abuse/dependence and life coaching. It focuses on the recovery process and regaining control of one's life and moving forward with success.

A New Perspective on a New Life – Stages of Behavioral Change

The Stages of Change

According to Prochaska & DiClemente (1983), there are five stages of behavioral change.  They are :

  1. Pre-contemplation
  2. Contemplation
  3. Preparation/Determination
  4. Action/Willpower
  5. Maintenance

These stages of change have been well-received by the psychological field over the past few decades.  They are also useful for recovery from drug or alcohol addiction.  Each stage has characteristics in describing the progression of a behavioral change.  An understanding of each stage is very useful for successful change of an undesired habit or behavior.

I will be introducing these (or reinforcing them if they are already familiar) over the next several blogs.  Please feel free to comment or provide feedback.

As always, visit for further information.



Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: