New Life Recovery and Coaching – Purpose and Goals

This site is about ovevrcoming substance abuse/dependence and life coaching. It focuses on the recovery process and regaining control of one's life and moving forward with success.

A New Perspective on a New Life – Stages of Behavioral Change

The Stages of Change

To review, the five stages of behavioral change are:

  1. Pre-contemplation
  2. Contemplation
  3. Preparation/Determination
  4. Action/Willpower
  5. Maintenance

2. Contemplation

This stage is typically the second stage of the behavioral stage change model.  During this stage the individual usually is acknowledging that there is a problem but struggling with uncertainty of the change and what it is going to involve.     There is not yet a commitment to change.  It may be interpreted as giving up an enjoyed behavior.  They are weighing pros and cons, and the benefits and barriers to change.  At this stage they can perhaps be  influenced and helped effectively by encouraging them to work at reducing the cons of changing their behavior.

Reaching this stage is typically a hopeful step forward.  Do not be discouraged by the reversal to a previous stage.  This is not unusual and can happen at any of the five stages.

Please visit or contact me at the information provided on the web site for additional information on these stages.  In addition, I encourage any comments, questions, or concerns left on this blog.



Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: