New Life Recovery and Coaching – Purpose and Goals

This site is about ovevrcoming substance abuse/dependence and life coaching. It focuses on the recovery process and regaining control of one's life and moving forward with success.

A New Perspective on a New Life – Stages of Behavioral Change

The Stages of Change

To review, the five stages of behavioral change are:

  1. Pre-contemplation
  2. Contemplation
  3. Preparation/Determination
  4. Action/Willpower
  5. Maintenance

3. Preparation/Determination

This stage is typically the third stage of the behavioral stage change model.  During this stage the individual usually has decided that a change is desired.  They are researching the efforts that will be required to make the change.  Perhaps counseling is considered or sought, the individual is reading material related to the change, or even researching self-help techniques or routines.  They take small steps that they believe can help them make the healthy behavior a part of their lives.

This is an exciting stage of the model.  Individuals tend to do “soul-searching” to get the motivation to solidify their desire to make the behavioral change.  Remember that this is also a vulnerable stage.  Support to a person at this stage is very critical to assure that this is an effort worth pursuing.  It is very exciting and rewarding, but at the same time intimidating.

Please visit or contact me at the information provided on the web site for additional information on these stages.  In addition, I encourage any comments, questions, or concerns left on this blog.


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: